23 May 2023

The URL consolidates its international scope through the university alliances ENGAGE.EU and SACRU

Ramon Llull University (URL), and through it La Salle-URL, which is one of its founding members, are part of various prestigious academic networks and alliances, both national and international, which help to broaden its reach and positioning as a reference university center. The two main alliances that the URL is part of are ENGAGE.EU and the Strategic Alliance of Catholic Research Universities (SACRU).

Networking and international links help to reinforce the connectivity and inclusion of universities. In this line, the participation of La Salle-URL and the URL in these alliances allow the development of collaborative research and academic projects, while endorsing the exchange of students and educators. The objective is also to promote the construction of fairer, more sustainable, supportive and committed societies, and for universities to help provide an active response to global challenges.

ENGAGE.EU, the "European university"

ENGAGE.EU is an alliance of the leading European universities in the field of business, economics and social sciences. Its main objective is to provide European citizens with the set of skills and competences necessary to face the main challenges of society, such as digitalization and artificial intelligence, climate change, aging societies and migration. The alliance aims to inspire the active participation of society in the current and future state of Europe, and beyond.

In addition to the URL, the universities that make up the alliance are Mannheim University (Germany); Luiss Libera Università Internazionale degli Studi Sociali Guido Carli (Italy); Norwegian School of Economics (Norway); Tilburg University (Netherlands); University of National and World Economy (Bulgaria); University of Toulouse 1 Capitole (France); and WU Vienna University of Economics and Business (Austria).

SACRU, Catholic universities of reference

The SACRU is an international network of world-renowned Catholic universities dedicated to research and teaching of excellence, with a strong social commitment. The alliance was born with the vision of being a leading network of Catholic universities that supports leadership and education for the common good. Its mission is to foster global cooperation among research-intensive Catholic universities with the goal of advancing knowledge and higher education.

The alliance is formed, in addition to the URL, by the Australian Catholic University (Australia); Boston College (United States); the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile (Chile); the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro (Brazil); Sophia University (Japan); the Portuguese Catholic University (Portugal); and the Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore (Italy).